Firmware update freeze

Gnome

Hi all

Recently found a Windows PC and tried to do the firmware update.

The update starts by powering down the inverter, then a minute later the firmware update program just pops up a dialog "Could not open COM port"

At that point I need to pretty much turn of the inverter, disconnect the battery, turn off the circuit breaker, etc. before I can get it to power back on.

Anyone else experience this?

2 hours ago, Chris Hobson said:

Having never fiddled with firmware I have no personal experience but from memory you have to ensure that you using COM1.

Ah ok, I guess that could be the reason :P That is quite a crazy requirement, especially since it has the option to select other COM ports

5 hours ago, Gnome said:

Ah ok, I guess that could be the reason :P That is quite a crazy requirement, especially since it has the option to select other COM ports

Indeed. It's the other flashing software, for the SCC, that has the Com1 requirement.

Are you saying it connected, started the update, then the inverter powered down? You need the battery connected, and the inverter switch on.

If the update aborted part way, then no lights will come on, but you need to restart the update after removing all power to reset the processor and restoring it.

If it simply could not find the comm port at all, there seems to be a requirement that the com port number is less than 10, i.e. com1 through com9.

Hey Coulomb

No it starts the update by powering down the inverter. Then about a minute later the update says, could not find serial port.

So it did connect, but freezes up and a minute later gives me an error.

The progress bar never moves.

6 hours ago, Gnome said:

No it starts the update by powering down the inverter. Then about a minute later the update says, could not find serial port.

So it did connect, but freezes up and a minute later...

Bizzare. This is with the battery connected and the inverter switch on? And an Axpert 5 kVA?