Total beginner question on Solar

Justin_A

Hi all,

Nice to virtually meet you all and also nice to have found this forum. I've been toying around with the idea of solar for a while and was wondering what you experts think of my potential plan. The problem I'm trying to solve is to start reducing my power bill thus freeing up resources for a further build. So essentially what I am thinking of is to put panels and an inverter in and wire it only to certain plug circuits . No batteries at this point as the goal is to try to reduce my "base" operating daytime load as much as possible. So essentially running aircons, and big loads off the grid and computing power of solar with an  automatic switch to Eskom at night.

Now the problem I am having and can't quite figure out is the "base" daytime load I am hoping to cover is around 900w (Yes high I know but I have lots of computing power doing various things). So I guess what I'm interested in is the following:

How many panels would I need to cover the above?  What size inverter etc and what sort of cost range would I be looking at? The long term goal is to use the savings from this to eventually extend the system into batteries etc.

Hi Justin

Get yourself a smart-grid inverter that can run without batteries. Add 6x 260W panels to begin with which would give you 1.5kw/h roughly. That should be enough to reduce you electric bill to start with. 

Which area do you stay in? Maybe one of the installers on here can lend you a hand.

1 hour ago, Johann1982 said:

Add 6x 260W panels to begin with which would give you 1.5kw/h roughly

I agree. PV panels don't make that from the second the sun comes up until it sets again tonight. It makes a little in the morning, ramps up to the peak at around 12:30PM (In South Africa) and then ramps down again and by 5PM you're basically done for the day.