BMV & Relay to disconnect batteries

viceroy

So this weekend we had a bit of a scare when the house did not switch over to grid at the scheduled time, and by the time we realised, the battery bank had discharged to nearly 50%.

Now the BMV alarm would have gone off, but if we had not been home or by chance didn't hear the alarm, it could have been a disaster.

Now I have no experience with relays, but I now need to install one to disconnect the bank if the BMV triggers it.

Please advise what I need in order to do this.

Thanks.

Hi Viceroy

It is easier to disconnect the load than the batteries. The load will be 230 AC and contactors are readily available. A DC contactor is more expensive. The disadvantage is that the system does not totally shut down. Everything that is downstream of the contactor is shut down but the inverter remains powered. The inverter draws 50W. So in you case 100W. This has the advantage that if there still is solar available you will continue to charge your batteries. The Axpert manual warns not to disconnect under load so I am not sure what will happen if you suddenly remove battery as a source.

A lengthy discussion was precipitated by TTT but it appears the relay on the BMV can handle 230AC.

Addition: There is a good video on this forum demonstrating the difference between disconnecting loads - AC versus DC. After watching that you will probably plum for a AC contactor.

40 minutes ago, Chris Hobson said:

A lengthy discussion was precipitated by TTT but it appears the relay on the BMV can handle 230AC.

Been doing it since 2011. ;)

BMV relay is triggered based on i.e SOC of 90% and released again at say 95% SOC. You can set it any SOC you want.

Left is inverter and right is Eskom. BMV triggers relay, and switches power from inverter to Eskom and back.

One irritation in my system is that at the time I did it, no relay timer could go below 1 second. So I have to use a UPS to carry the 1 sec break.