New installation.

Hi Guys

Total newbie here.  I am about to get the following system installed on Monday:

• 8 x JA Solar 540W Mono
  • Sunsynk 8K Hybrid
  • 2 x Pylontech US3000c

I am doing this through an installer as I need this done before the next big Eskom madness hike and the next lot of breakdowns by an inept parastatal.  I opted to get a bigger inverter to enable me to expand.

I already have most of my lights on LED's, my geysers on solar (one tube and one panel) and also on timers.  My Hob is gas, not my stove.  I have brought my consumption down from 56-59kw/day to 42kw/day.

1. What software can I use to monitor the system?
  2. Is there a way to automatically and remotely switch power-hungry systems?

kind regards

Aubrey

I can't comment on ICC but moved from SolarMan Smart directly to Solar Assistant once doing a search on this forum for "user friendly easy to install real-time data". The purchase of the Pi and cables was very easy online and delivered within 24 hours. The installation and setup on my network took all of 15 minutes and I have been very impressed with the quality of data Solar Assistant provides.

But horses for courses - hopefully others will comment on ICC.

1 hour ago, cyber7 said:

How does Solar Assistant hold up to ICC

Very well. The main difference in functionality in my opinion is that if you are running ICC you can still use other linux programs in addition to ICC. For example I am running node red which is monitoring ICC values and then controlling my geyser switching via the i/o pins, a relay and then a contactor (a suitable wifi relay wasn't available when I designed the system). I am also running a calibre server for my ebook library on the same pi. ICC also requires the use of VNC or port forwarding for remote access so that can be a pain. I haven't tried the new option ICM so that may have changed.