Battery Monitor with shutdown relay.

Chris Hobson

I spent last night checking on the net and I see Victron have a battery monitor with relay which you can invert (60V 1A). Now the quest is to find a a contactor that will work @ 60V 1A. My plan is to have a contactor on the AC load that will cut out if the DOD exceeds 30%. I am a farmer and employees are not going to worry about the nuances of a solar system and I want to prevent disaster in my absence. Rather switch off than have my investment ruined.

Hi Chris,

No need for a 60V contactor.

Use a normal 220V contactor that is correctly sized for your load.

Use an extra circuit from your invertor output and wire it through the Victron battery monitor to power the contactor.

This way you can drop certain loads when the battries is running low.

Other loads like lights can stull run untill the invertor shuts down by itself due to the "low DC cutoff" setting.

The correct way to "calculate" DOD will be with something like the Victron battery monitor.

It is programmed with your battery parameters and measures the amps flowing in and out of the battery bank to detirmine DOD.

By using just the voltage to calculate the DOD is a very rough estimation, but generally 11.75V is seen as 30% DOD.

Thing is, current drawn from the battery also affects the volts, so the same battery at 2 diffrent currents, will give you diffrent voltages. Now which voltage gives you the correct DOD???

Hi Superdiy

I may have missed something. The Axpert maximum cut-off is 48V which is roughly between 50% and 40% DOD according to what I have found on the net so the inverter is unable to hit the sweet spot in terms of shutdown so that your batteries last. You can switch to grid and start charging at DOD of about 30% but in my instance since I do not want the generator on auto start and I am off-grid this is not an option.