Help - My system is set for 1 day a year!!!

LLTHB

Hi to all.

Please excuse any errors I make here, I am an amateur at this.

We have installed a Goodwe hybrid grid tie inverter, 5Kw unit.

It was supplied with 20 panels - 2 strings of 10 connected to the 2 MPPT inputs.

Due to the construction of our house in a "H" shape, we throw shade over the north facing panels till about 09h00.

To get around this we have added a 3rd string of 10 panels on our east facing roof.

So now at night we turn off one of the north facing strings and turn on the east facing string. So still only 20 panels connected at any one time to the inverter.

At about 09h00 when the full sun is on the 20 north facing panels, we turn off the east panels and turn on the north facing string that was off, so only 20 panels on at a time.

All well and good, works like a bomb.

BUT, BUT, BUT - we have now learned on an overcast day, we can turn on all 30 panels and make more power from less light. All well and good.

But what will happen if the clouds suddenly disappear and all 30 panels are producing max power?

The installer has explained to me that basically my system max spec is a day in October where because of roof angles etc, that is the day my 20 panels will make the most power ever if the sky is clear and that is the maximum input the inverter can handle. Lets call this the "perfect day".

So, all other days we can make less power because of angles, cloud etc etc. This seems wrong.

On a cloudy day, we could do with 40 panels, not 20. Why can we not just put more panels up than needed on the perfect day, but each other day we could make the "perfect day" if we could have 40 panels on line all the time, but the inverter must only take what it can handle max.

Does this make sense or am I lost here? Why are we limited like this?? Or are we?

Any advice appreciated here.

Cheers.

30 minutes ago, LLTHB said: