3 Phase Inverters/Installations

CJW

First off I want to state that although I successfully installed and operate a small 900w 12 volt system, I am a newbie to solar installations in as far as inverters and AC power is concerned.

I am considering an installation on a farm where 3 phase power is available in the house with (according to my electrician) 60 or 80 Amps available per phase.  These 3 phases is currently distributed across all the loads within the db and there is no appliance or tool that uses 3-phase power that is powered through the circuitry of the dwelling. The main idea for now is to use the installation purely as a back-up system to the unreliable (complete outages or "phase-drops") Eskom supply. The back-up is only needed for "critical loads" such as lights, fans, refrigeration, security installations etc. and my guess was that 5 - 6kW would be ample. Geysers, stove, aircons, kettle, swimmingpool pump etc would be excluded from the back-up system. Solar installation will only follow in a couple of years.

I initially opted to go for the 10kW Infini, but with all the negative comments I am a bit hesitent especially since my Eskom supply is definately not up to scratch with suspected fluctuating voltages which might damage the Infini. I also considered a Victron inverter (big fan), but it would seem that one single unit with 3-phase capability is unavailable. I simply cannot afford 3 Victron inverters for a 3-phase installation, bearing in mind that each inverter will need it's own battery/set of batteries.

As I understand another option is to use a single phase inverter on one of the supplied phases to power the inverter and critical loads and use the other two phases for the non-critical loads.

What are the pitfalls when using this latter type of installation, alternatively what other 3-phase inverters might be considered.

31 minutes ago, CJW said:

... , bearing in mind that each inverter will need it's own battery/set of batteries.