Information please... I am new to solar.

Hello everyone. 

I have just started looking into solar. I am fascinated at the possibility of having electrical redundancy built in for my home and business. I like the idea that my carbon foot print will be reduced and, if the setup is done correctly, I could have the system pay for itself. 

What is stopping me from investing into a system is that I have concerns about the complexity, quality and installation. Please advise me what on how to avoid the most common mistakes that people make when they decide to go solar?

Welcome to the forum. Great platform to learn and make a decision.

Avoid: Cheap solutions, untrained installers and non-compliant equipment (China mall for example).

Request: All quotations to have attached a wireman who will provide CoC and solar training certificate to show the installer has been to the courses.

Others can add on.

Ask for detailed quotes on equipment and do some research on the quoted items. Ask to see photos of previous installations and contact details of previous clients.

One shoe does not fit all,  ensure you know what loads are running when and for how long. 

If you are residing within South Africa, read up on what is happening in Cape Town with regards to registering a system and regulations around it, as this will in future become a requirement for all Municipalities. 

12 hours ago, Migster said:

What is stopping me from investing into a system is that I have concerns about the complexity, quality and installation.

Most of us had those concerns when starting with solar. Whether you go for the cheap or expensive type, the planning phase for me was one of the most important parts, as I was also busy renovating my home. Deciding on the correct locations for the  equipment because once its installed you don't want to re-locate it.