Thank you for the great forum, Safe Driving over the weekend. Sincerely Jason
Richard Mackay

Power outages

23 minutes ago, Jaco de Jongh said:

For most of the active guys here the lights dont go out anymore.. 

I was about to say that LOL.

With first a decent inverter with batteries and now a full hybrid solution, it's been about 4 years since we had to deal with total darkness.

The inverter only backed up part of the house. The biggest problem for me was that our garage door wouldn't open unless you got inside and opened manually. This was solved by getting a door motor with battery backup.

I've been chipping away at this for 3 for 4 years now. With our current system and an all gas stove we sometimes don't even know there's a power outage.

Edited by Bobster
correction

Started 2013 with 200 watt panel , 2 * Deltec 105ah batteries , 20 A PWM charge controller and 600 watt inverter . Today we are offgrid and no loadsheading since 2015 . Then whenever the power does go off we get a SMS  . Is your power off ???

10 hours ago, Jaco de Jongh said:

For most of the active guys here the lights dont go out anymore.. 

Perhaps, but there should be place for everyone trying to become less dependent on the grid.

The number of 'active' guys should be happy with the discussions since they dominate the forum. What about the guy (who doesn't have the money required) who wants a simple system to mitigate power outages?  

23 hours ago, Richard Mackay said:

When the lights go out what do you miss the most?

being one of the only ones still on, and me thinks that makes me a target, so have helped a few neighbors out, so there are more of us off grid.....

46 minutes ago, Richard Mackay said:

The number of 'active' guys should be happy with the discussions since they dominate the forum. What about the guy (who doesn't have the money required) who wants a simple system to mitigate power outages? 

I just found my new years resolution thanks to you.