!?: Charge a “Slave” solar system from a “Master” solar system, how to do grounding/bonding!?

Azz

Hi,

Sorry for my English, I am from Sweden living in Tenerife, Canary islands.

I am a newbie here and grateful to have found lots of relevant information as well as patched firmwares to my inverters!!!

It feels like a well working & sharing community!

We have a farm here with several cottages with tenants.

We have two separate off-grid solar systems providing power.

One “Master” with:

2 x Axpert 48v, pf 1.0, connected in parallel (patched fw72.20e)

1 x Genergy 6 kW generator (autostart)

24 x AmeriSolar 275w panels

24 x 2v Cynetic batteries (750Ah)

1 x Victron BMV 702

1 x Raspberry Pi with ICC

One “Slave” with:

1 x Axpert 48v, pf 0.8 (patched fw73.00e)

9 x AmeriSolar 340w panels

8 x 6v Trojan T105 batteries ( 250Ah)

1 x Victron BMV 702

1 x Raspberry Pi with ICC

Lately the “Slave” hasn’t been able to provide enough power during cloudy days and my plan is to connect the “Master” and “Slave” together to be able to charge the “Slave” from the “Master”. “Master” acting like a grid-provider ;-). Occasionally the Generator will be kicking in to provide extra power needed.

Now to the challenging question:

How should the grounding/bonding be made to keep all the inverters & generator “happy”?

Thanks for your input in advance!

3 hours ago, Azz said:

How should the grounding/bonding be made

Welcome to the forum.

It depends on your Axpert PF0.8; did it come with 73.00 from the factory, or with an earlier version?

That decides whether or not there is a relay that shorts neutral to ground.

10 hours ago, Azz said:

No, it is an older one!

Ok. What I do with mine is, I connect neutral out to neutral in. Neutral in should be earthed back at your switchboard (depending on your country's earthing system), so then your neutral out is earthed at all times.