DC changeover switch

gooseberry

I'm rather new to solar power systems but I've been doing some reading as I'm building a new house this year and want to do it right, to be as energy efficient as possible and no load shedding. The area I'm in also experience quite frequent power cuts so having a backup that can last up to 12h for lights, fridge and electronics is a must.

Now I've been looking at ways to do this piecemeal so I can increase capability over time... so starting with a pure UPS backup system makes sense to me. This would probably be an Axpert and a Lithium Ion battery, possibly with a few solar panels and a changeover switch on the DB to comply with the regulations. Later I would like to have geysers and pumps etc also benefitting from solar generation and reducing my energy bill and here I would perhaps add Solis inverter and charge the batteries with AC through the Axpert. 

Obviously the problem with this is that the batteries can't charge when the grid is down. Now my question is, would it be possible to install some switch, even manual, that disconnects the solar panels from the Solis and connects them to the Axpert to charge my battery?

Or is this not feasible and would it be a better option be to go for a hybrid grid tied inverter from the start?

This article explains it better. It seems there is something like this and it's called a DC transfer switch.

https://www.solarpowerworldonline.com/2016/03/using-a-direct-dc-transfer-solution-to-better-back-up-solar/

I'm also told the Axpert can't be connected to the DB in any way, is that true? Would I need to install a separate charge controller?

Hi,

Yes, a DC transfer switch would be what you are looking for, simplest (cheapest too) being a manual switch, and then an automatic being more ideal, albeit at a higher cost.

21 hours ago, gooseberry said:

I'm also told the Axpert can't be connected to the DB in any way