Solar installation.

Solar newbie

Good morning gents. 

I need some advice on solar panels I have 2 x 285w panels in series on my roof I'm planning to install 2 more after the lock down. Now my problem is I'm only getting around 350w from them in really sunny days. I need to know if I possibly have a problem with direction and tilt. I'm in kwazulu-natal, Richards Bay and they are facing 347°N not sure about the tilt but it's basically the angle of my roof. I have gone through all the connections and everything looks fine.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks 

IMG_20200413_063647.jpg

I’m no expert on angle’s of panels, but would think on a good day peak pv you should be able to get at least 80% from the 2 x 285W panels, you are currently only getting slightly over 50% out of them at peak that sounds a bit low. If wire thickness from panels to inverter is to thin it could cause a volt drop, Also if they are to close to the tiled roof and have no cooling I believe they will loose efficiency.

On 2020/04/13 at 6:39 AM, Hannes Bester said:

I need to know if I possibly have a problem with direction and tilt

Hi

The correct angle as far as I have read up should be about 26 degrees or a little more as you are further South. North facing. I guess wiring of 2mm squared or larger should not cause a problem with a volt drop. 

I am curious how you measured the max to be about 350w.

Hi

That is correct you should use wire that is 4mm squared or thicker.

As there are only 2 panels in series that give about 10amps max and about 64volts.

If the wire was 2mm squared the resistance would be about 0.0083ohm/m.

If the wire length was 50m the resistance of the wire would be 0.42ohm. 

The volt drop would be 4.2v which would be (64v-4.2v)= 59.8v. A drop of 6.5% for copper wire.

So it does make a difference. It would only be 2.1volt  3.25% for 4mm squared wire.

If the wire was 2mm squared it still would not make up for the for that large loss.