[Review] Alpha-ESS Smile5 Energy Storage system

This will be my little review or thoughts I want to share after having used this system for about half a month. I hope this can help someone researching and deciding to buy this system or somehting else.

I live totally off-grid, no Eskom line to my home. The system I installed includes the Alpha-ESS Smile5 Inverter, 2x Alpha-ESS Smile5 Battery 5.7kWh, and 12x Sharp 330W Poly Solar Panels.

I mainly went for this system, which is more expensive (at least on the Inverter side) than something that would not have grid-tie capabilities because it looked simple to install and nice, clean and modular. I actually started off with just one battery but soon decided to add another as I did not want to have power problems if it happens to be very cloudy. I am a freelance video game programmer so my days are spent behind a computer.

I mainly run my computer, fridge and some LED lights on it through the day. I can toast some bread, boil the kettle or run the electric pressure cooker, microwave oven, and washing machine just fine. My power tools like the grinder and circular saw works just fine too. I do use these quite a bit since I am still setting up my home, building a chicken coop, etc. That was before I got the additional battery too.

I mainly use gas for cooking and boiling water and also for hot water during a shower. My pressure pump and borehole pumps are on separate gel battery and panels so they are not drawing from my main setup.

Overall it has been providing me with enough power and I was even surprised to find the panels giving 500W, and later over 1kW, of power to charge the batteries during a cloudy morning. This is the first time I dealt with anything solar so I am still learning.