First Time installation Questions.

Hello there guys,

I have a Axpert Standard 5 Kva 48V. I am a qualified electrician, but this is my first time installing a inverter. There is no solar panels, so it will be used solely as a back up, for load shedding. Please may I get some advise as to the correct way of installing. I wish to have all essential circuits in a separate D.B. I will be using 200ah Gel Batteries. Does someone perhaps have a wiring diagram and a list of components needed and  cable sizes  ect? What size DC cable would be required for the batteries 35mm Permaweld? Is it necessary to install a change over switch and pilot lamp on the DB? 

1 hour ago, David27 said:

What size DC cable would be required for the batteries 35mm Permaweld?

35mm^2 is suffiient for 5kVA at 48V (5000/50 ~= 100A), but do watch out for voltage drop on a longer run, which should ideally by 1% or therebouts. Battery cables must be fused with a DC-rated fuses. If you use breakers on the DC runs, they must be DC-rated for the voltage you intend to switch.

1 hour ago, David27 said:

Is it necessary to install a change over switch and pilot lamp on the DB? 

Many places (certainly Cape Town) want to see that changeover switch. It's more of a bypass switch than a changeover. I believe the pilot lamp is required where there is an alternate power supply. I am not an electrician, so this is kinda your area 🙂

Edit: And crimp the lugs onto the cables using a proper crimper, not a vice or some other means 🙂

Edited by plonkster

You just need one fuse for the battery cable. 

The fuse is used to protect your cable. So if your cable is rated for 130A you need a fuse that is 'n bit smaller than that. The fuse will burn out saving the cable and disconnecting the battery. If you have 2 fuses one will burn out first leaving the other one useless. Now do buy a second fuse as a backup when you need to replace it...