Earth Leakage tripping

RhysMcW

Hi All,
My InfiniSolar inverter seems to be causing the earth leakage on the utility grid side to trip.
I can't confirm this but it seems to be when the inverter is supplying a power to it's load, and pulling from the grid supply.

Any ideas what the issue could be?

Edited by RhysMcW

Ill give you some tips to check.

Note im not an electrician, I only have a fair amount of electrical knowledge.
Infinisolar is an axpert correct?
How does your inverter get power? Does it get power from  a feed after the earth leakage?
Is the output Neutral and earth bonded together on the inverter?

If the above holds true when the inverter is in bypass mode,the bond between earth and neutral will cause the earth leakage to trip.
From what ive seen the inverter needs to be powered after the mains breaker, before it goes through an earth leakage and the output of the inverter needs its own earth leakage.

From what ive seen its i difficult scenario having the install both correct, safe and compliant with SANS.

I repeat, im not an electrician. bu shed some light on the wiring configuration and someone will help.

Thank you for the reply Gielie

13 minutes ago, Gielie said:

Infinisolar is an axpert correct?

The Infinisolar and Axpert are made by the same manufacturer (Voltronic), the Axpert being an off-rid inverter and the Infinisolar being on-grid (think my terminology is about close).

13 minutes ago, Gielie said:

How does your inverter get power? Does it get power from  a feed after the earth leakage?

Yes, the grid power enters my utility DB directly into the earth leakage and then on to an isolator (I expected this to be the other way round)

16 minutes ago, Gielie said:

Is the output Neutral and earth bonded together on the inverter?

not as far as I know, but not entirely sure how to confirm.

18 minutes ago, Gielie said: