Panels and Inverter calculation

Hatish

So I am very new to solar, and am trying to spec a system for my home. I will use an installer, but I am trying to learn for my own knowledge, and to determine if I am getting ripped off. If there are any guides out there to help with determining this, please share. Otherwise below are the details of my own exploration.

I am looking at the Sunsynk 8Kw Hybrid Inverter 48v IP65

Panels as follows: ARTsolar – 400 Watt Solar Panel – Mono Percium High Efficiency – Full Black (link)

Inverter specs for panel input:

Max power input – 8800W
Max V DC input – 500V DC
Max current input – 18A + 18A
MPPTs – 2

First question: The 500V DC input, is that total, or per MPPT?

Panel specs (NOCT):

Max wattage    - 302.00 
Max Voltage    - 39.60 
Max power current (amps) - 7.66 

So I am trying to figure out how many panels to get, and what is a good combination for them. (I hope I am using the term string below correctly)

If I go with wattage, then I can get 14(serial) x 2 panels. This gives me: 8456W, 554.4V (per string), 7.66A (per string). Voltage is too high, but amps are good.

To improve voltage, I can go 7(serial) x 2(parallel) x 2 panels. This gives me: 8456W, 277.2V (per string), 15.32A (per string). This looks better. But voltage may still be too high, if it is based on the entire system, and not per string.

So is my thinking on the panel sizing correct?

What are the hard limitations around voltage, amps, etc?

Can I over-volt the system, and then have some sort of limiter or overflow manager? Maybe that is done automatically by the inverter?

Any assistance is appreciated.

42 minutes ago, Hatish said:

Panel specs (NOCT)