1620w worth of panels producing a maximum of 1000w.

I am a noob at this and by no means even slightly an expert so please keep that in mind and please ask for any info I have failed to provide for you to help me solve this issue. 

I have a 3kva/3000w Synergi PWM (yes PWM not MPPT) 24 volt (yes twenty four volt) inverter installed. Connected to this, I have two 12 volt 200 amp/hour AllGrand gel batteries installed in series. I then also have six 270w Enersol solar panels installed in parallel (this is how the manual says the panels should be installed). 

Now here is my problem. This should be producing a theoretical maximum of 1620w, but only ever does a maximum of 1000w and averages in the 800-900w region. Accoring to the inverter display, it does this at around 25-27volts and 36-40amps.  Basically I am losing around 40% of theoretical solar power. Roof is north facing. Not sure of the angle of the roof, but it is a "standard" angle of what I estimate to be about 30-40 degrees slope. 

I am at work now, but will happily provide pictures or whatever else info I have missed when I get home after work. Installer blames the fact that it is a PWM inverter and not MPPT. Same guy also promised at least 1200w of solar production, so go figure. 

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I guess that’s why places like this are so important where people offer advice based on own experience without actually having any vested interest in what you buy. 

1. Correct 2. Correct Additional items, check to ensure that you have an inline fuses close to panels as well

So it seems it has to do with the inefficiency of a PWM inverter. Tested yesterday, by connecting 3 panels only (out of the total of 6). Put at least 1500w of load on the system, and the 3 panels prod

Posted Images

Another quick question(s).....am I correct to assume the following:

1. There MUST be a fuse between battery and inverter?