Axpert radio interferences

My Axpert/Synerji MKS 5k system produces strong radio interferences on HF as well as on VHF. That bothers me since I'm a radio amateur. I attribute it to the MPPT since they disappear after sunset and come on again at sunrise. I tried to block them with a ferroid toroid core around the PV feeder wires but it doesn't help.

Does anybody have a solution?

4 hours ago, Beat said:

PV wiring should be inside bosal conduit or a steel trunking, that might be the solution and also earthing the bosal conduit, If that is not possible another option is a 40x40 galvanized channel with a steel cover it should also be earthed. 

On 2020/10/13 at 4:48 PM, Beat said:

My Axpert/Synerji MKS 5k system produces strong radio interferences on HF as well as on VHF. That bothers me since I'm a radio amateur. I attribute it to the MPPT since they disappear after sunset and come on again at sunrise. I tried to block them with a ferroid toroid core around the PV feeder wires but it doesn't help.

Is the source of the noise your AC side or HF emissions through air?

My first attempt would be to use a ferrite with wire running some loops through it for wiring (internal to the inverter) going from the MPPT to the Axpert inverter board.  Also are you using multiple loops around the ferrite or just putting it through the middle of the ferrite?

Your inductance will be really low if you just put it through the center.  In which case I would wrap a few turns.

Btw. this increased inductance may have other side effects so best be careful about this.

If the emissions are radiated then I would consider some kind of faraday cage situation around the MPPT connect to the ground of the PV to couple the noise to ground.

If you have noise coming in over AC line, isolation transformer with a shield winding help at all?

Edited by Gnome
On 2020/10/13 at 9:28 PM, Gerrie said: