How deep do you draw your lithiums?

I'm new to lithiums after recently replacing my lead acids. I have 2 x 3.5kW Pylontechs.

I'm looking for the sweet spot where I will get good battery life as well as maximum utilisation of the bank at night. I do understand the technology is new so there's no real data out there.

Currently I'm drawing down to 25% before switching to grid, but the Axpert powers itself from the batteries so this causes a further slow drop of a few %. Never goes below 20% which is my personal comfort zone limit. I'll likely modify this strategy for load shedding to leave a little more in should I need to go back to battery at 4am.

What's the feeling on this? Am I cycling too deep, or not maximising ROI?

1 hour ago, PhilFM said:

I think you are at a good level currently, given that your panels are able to recharge completely during the day and you do not need grid power to do so

Thanks Phil. I usually don't reach 100% in the day but can easily handle all the loads even in poor weather. When it's sunny we do extra loads in the washer and pump water to keep the panels running at max to get the maximum "free" energy, or cook with the oven rather than gas. The batteries run the house to 5am in a best case scenario but more usually around 3am.

I never charge from the grid. In Cape Town we do 2.5 hours of load shedding so a cutoff of around 40% would work for me at those times and only for load shedding in the early hours. This never happens due to grid overload but can happen if they are resting the gas turbines or refilling the top dams at the pumped storage.

Hagu13, I think you are set up nicely and as you said when there is loadshedding, you can plan for that with the needed SOC