Which are the "best" AGM/GEL batteries? A brief analysis.

meyerwh

I am not an expert in the field and just like to share the info and ask for opinions and views on the problem. I do not consider Li batteries here. I have a Kodak 3kW 24V inverter, and 24V Li batteries are very expensive (about R17,000-20,000 for BlueNova 26V-77-2k and R17,000-22,000 for Pylon UP2500 2.84kWh). Second generation 25.6V Li batteries by e.g. Revov are currently sold with a minimum capacity of 5.2kW and go for more than R30,000.

The information in this document is collected and compared with a focus on a low-consumption off-grid scenario. Solar panels (1,320W) supply enough power during the (sunny) day to run all appliances with a minimum energy contribution by the batteries (maybe max. 10% capacity). During the night (14 hours without energy supply by solar panels), a fridge is a major consumer and I like to cater for about 1.2 kWh during this time.

I consulted the spec sheets of AGM or GEL batteries advertised (but some not available anymore as I found out) in South Africa. I compared the data on constant power discharge down to a cell voltage of 1.8V. I adjusted the rating of a battery for a 10h constant current discharge to 1.8V per cell (10.8V per battery) since some battery model names refer their capacity to a 20h discharge and/or to a discharge down to a cell voltage of 1.75V (10.5V per battery). As a second adjustment, I multiplied with a factor to “simulate” a 200Ah battery. I assumed that with this approach a common base is created for a better comparison.