How do you connect infinisolar inverter to main DB?

nico1

Question

I'm stuck regarding wiring inverter to main DB, the inverter is a true hybrid and must connect to main DB only. No need to separate essential and non essential loads. How do I connect earth leakages and changeover switch? Please share a diagram - even handwritten one will be ok. Thanks in advance

Hi

In your case the wiring should be simple. I started to explain the wiring however I deleted it as I am not an electrician and also by doing this yourself it would not be legal and I could add problems. You have not given any specifications on your inverter or what current your dwelling uses.

My advise now is to work together with someone who has done this before and knows the law for the wiring. The correct mm wiring etc. and to get a coc.

This is only my personal advice. If you have little or no  knowledge of the wiring  it could be an costly and dangerous affair if things go wrong.

Edited by Peter Topp

I have an Inifinisolar too and found Voltronic's manual to be very detailed, except that it does not cater for a changeover switch.

As far as I know (I did not wire it myself, and the earth leakage may be upstream of the changeover) my setup works as follows. With the changeover in mains mode: Grid supply -> mains breaker -> changeover -> earth leakage -> individual distribution breakers.  With the changeover in Inverter mode: Grid supply -> mains breaker -> changeover -> inverter AC in -> inverter AC out -> earth leakage -> individual distribution breakers.

Disclaimer:  I'm also not a sparky and won't be able confirm whether the manual's cable specs conform to our local standards,or the standards for the earth leakage placement!

Hi  nico1

To add to my previous post I am not willing to give a detailed explanation however I am willing to help by giving you a block diagram how I would do the wiring.

I still stand with my previous post.

I hope this will help you.