help needed to explain very basic termonology

Chippy

I am a complete novice on all things solar etc,

I have been to a company who have designed a system that they say will cover everything I need but I want to install this all myself.

I have a fair understanding of electronics form about 35 years ago but everything has changed so much since the time of resistors and transistors.

First question is; The panels recommended are 330w at 48.06V, this bit I understand but then they are rated 1000V Vdc, can someone explain the meaning of this as I seriously doubt they are 1000 volts.

Second question is the inverter is a 24 volt  2000w model,  It says on the spec sheet that @25 C it puts out 2000 VA  continuous power, 1700watts for 30minutes and 1300 watts continuous and  @40 C

its 1200watts, does this sound a reasonable output for a 2KVA system.

Last for the moment is batteries,  4 120ah batteries are included in the quote I got, (Lithium are out of my price range so I'm going for lead acid deep cycle for now,)

I don't need a lot of power as we don't run much, about 250 to 300 watts per hour so is the battery backup good enough for maybe two days?

I would like peoples opinion as I have a naturally cynical nature when it comes to sales people. they are going to say it is fine just to get  a sale from my experience.

6 minutes ago, Chippy said:

First question is; The panels recommended are 330w at 48.06V, this bit I understand but then they are rated 1000V Vdc, can someone explain the meaning of this as I seriously doubt they are 1000 volts.

The 1000V could refer to two things. The one is the maximum system voltage, in other words, you are not allowed to put more than 20 of those PV modules in series, otherwise the total system voltage will exceed 1000VDC. The second thing it could be referring to is insulation levels. The PV-cabling is usually rated for up to 1000VDC. Unless you're installing more than 20 modules, I wouldn't worry about this part 🙂