Power costs in the press

Bobster

I've noticed a few articles lately about utility costs and especially electricity costs.

Yes, Eskom, and thus the municipalities, have increased at greater than inflation and even in excess of the COL index, but some of what I'm seeing I don't get.

One article, written by a person living in Johannesburg, mentioned a 288% increase in a year. Wow! There is no way COJ have increased tariffs by that much. I think a lot of homes are using more power because of folks working from home. Certainly in Johannesburg (I have no experience of paying bills in any other municipality) one can find one's bill increases hugely one month, drops the next because meters don't get read  every month.

One person said his bill used to be 4K a month, is now 13K, despite having installed a solar geyser.

It doesn't help, of course, that we had load shedding in the winter. That's not going to make anybody feel happier about Eskom. But still... these numbers?

Does anybody here, or, more likely, anybody they know well, see these sorts of doubling and tripling of power bills?

Problems I can think of

1. People don't understand that electricity billing is on a sliding scale - the more you use, the more you pay per unit.
  2. lag between you making changes and the impact of those changes being seen on the bill (typically in Johannesburg your electricity bill is 60 days behind current date)
  3. bad wiring from sub station to houses. I have been through this. A sub contractor installed a new sub station and meters and marked the meters incorrectly, so I was paying the bill that my neighbour should have got and so on. But meters are often on individual properties.
  4. Skelmheid. Somebody is hooking up to your feed or has paid a crooked official to put their usage on your meter (or to swap connections on meters).