Battery Upgrade Project Help Required

Peter_DM

Hi All,

I'm a NOOB on this forum, but have had a Solar installation for several years, and hope some of the knowledgeable people here can assist me with some questions regarding a battery upgrade project.

As a bit of background, I have 2 Axpert 5KVA Inverters, each with 12 Canadian Solar 270W panels, currently hooked up to a battery array of 8 strings of 4 100Ah Lead Acid batteries (i.e. 32 batteries total).

During the first few years of my installation, I had endless problems causing the Inverters to die every few months with major corrosion problems; the area I'm in (KZN coast) has very high humidity. I then decided to "steal" one meter from the back of the garage, and build a server room with an air-con fitted. Since moving the Inverters (plus all my computer servers, etc.) in there, I've had no more issues. I’ve set the air-con to DRY mode; it generally runs at about 16°C.

I've now decided it's time to upgrade the storage side of my installation, and what I've decided (haven't ordered yet, but about to) is to get 4 x Pylontech 2.4kWh units. I have also looked into the 2nd Life batteries from Herholdts, but the price delta doesn't make sense to me - I'd rather have the full cycle life for not very much more money.

So, now to my questions: