12v MR16 vs 220v GU10

jjmoodley

Hi, I'm new to the forum as I'm just starting out on a journey to be better prepaid for load shedding. My first step is to create better lighting and I'm thinking of using MR16 (GU5.3) downlights connected directly to a 12v battery which I'll keep charged. I can also go with GU10 lights but this would require me to run a small inverter.

Advantages of MR16 for me is that it's less cost (no inverter required) and much cheaper cables to run through the house which will not be connected to the existing wiring in anyway therefore not requiring COC. One disadvantage I can see is that MR16 bulbs are not as available as GU10 so this may not be the best long term decision.

Would like to know if I'm missing anything and get some advice on which way to go from anyone who may have already gone down this road and already learnt some lessons. Any thoughts/advice would be appreciated.

The MR16 would be more like little spot lights thus close to what you'll get from a torch or you would have to install quite a few to light a room or 2 with quite a big battery then. Rather go for something like a 12v strip light they run quite well off a battery.

1 hour ago, jjmoodley said:

One disadvantage I can see is that MR16 bulbs are not as available as GU10 so this may not be the best long term decision

In my experience MR16 is indeed becoming harder to buy. I can still find them at our local "Eagle lighting", but the hardware stores have stopped selling them, they only sell GU10 now.

If you intend installing such a lighting system in your house, remember that DC cabling must be separate from the AC cabling. You cannot put your 12V cabling through the existing conduit, and any switches would have to be DC rated. If your intent is to keep it a separate system, then just remember to fuse the cabling for safety, and you can run with MR16 until they become impossible to find.