Total newbie here

esawyja

Hi all,

I have 3-phase on a plot in Kyalami, I want to convert it to single phase at some stage as I do not use the 3 phase at all. I have the Engage Clip on system, one for each phase, that produces a graph like this for the year

image.png.1024ef1e026b83e75a871f42fda3a2b3.png

My question is and I do know it is very generic, how big of a solar solution will be enough for my needs? To get as close as possible to go off grid. As I want to convert to single phase, do I add all the phases together? But what then, how do I calculate what is needed, any advice please?

Welcome

(Correct me if I'm wrong.) If you take like Jul and sum them up 1316.77+738.26+233.16=2288.19/31=73.813kW a day/24= 3.08KWh, is high.

You need to go look what using all the power, what is your budget, there is lots of ways to do it, split the system.

You can start small and build up from there.  I like the King Inverters and others like other types.

image.thumb.png.b1065a188039a2eecd65d15eff362962.png

But like I say(correct me if I wrong)

image.thumb.png.ac1340586d922305efe59320c0fafae4.png

2 hours ago, esawyja said:

how big of a solar solution will be enough for my needs?

Your situation is very similar to mine - I had 3-phase Landrate (with a fixed charge of about R2000 per month, plus about R1.60/kWh).  I am now essentially off-grid, using ESKOM (Landlight, no fixed charge, R5/kWh) as my standby supply.

I have put in 12.5kW of panels, 15kW of inverter capacity and 28kWh (25 usable) of storage, and it seems to have been about right.  I have an energy management system controlling my geysers and air conditioners to ensure that the 15kW inverter capacity is never exceeded.

My ESKOM usage has decreased from R50000 p.a. to about R5000.  The total cost (DIY) was about R320k.

36 minutes ago, Vassen said: