Grid tied inverter with Generator backup.

Clement

Hi.

This is my first time having a grid tied system and am still in the preparation and design stage.

My customer requirement is to have a grid tied system which will be run by generator when grid fails. I do understand that grid tied systems are mainly for eliminating or lowering down electricity cost and feed-in  into grid via net metering system. I have researched and so far all I am finding are grid tied systems which obviously shut down when grid is absent and one inverter luckily runs on pv or backup batteries when grid is absent and uses a bypass cabinet switch point to cut off power from going to grid (automatically).

Now my client does not need batteries instead needs a generator.how can I integrate Grid tied system and generator and not disturb the grid or feed into grid? And how can it be automated?

Regards.

1 hour ago, The Terrible Triplett said:

Heard of a person who built his system so that when Eskom goes off a Victron inverter assumes the role of the grid so that the SMA continues uninterrupted.

That was my first line of thought but won't the power drawn be limited to the Victron capacity? 

2 minutes ago, Clement said:

That was my first line of thought but won't the power drawn be limited to the Victron capacity? 

Jip, then get a bigger unit, 10kva, I recall that maybe up to 6 can be paralleled. Plonkster can confirm.

BUT, I am not saying it is the answer, just saying there are ways around grid tied with no grid. :-) 

And batteries are cheaper than diesel, not so?

16 minutes ago, pilotfish said:

I would use a normal auto-start generator.

When grid fails and grid-tie inverter shuts off, then auto-start generator starts and runs loads as desired. When grid returns then generator will auto-stop after settlement period.

Thanks alot that settles the dust.i was thinking of incorporating ATS into the system .isolates the grid and generator picks up.

much appreciated