Amount of solar panels

Chris Louw

Hi, I've been using solar power for the last 5 years but now I need some advice.  My electrical knowledge is basic. Currently I have a 5kva Axpert with 8 x 150ah Beta batteries (Lead Crystal). The system has been running for 3 years. I started with 12 (250watt) panels and in the last year I've run 15 (250watt) panels on the system, no problems. The system rarely reaches 3000 watt solar supply.  I now have another 3 (250watt) panels available.  Is there any way that I can limit the solar supply to 3000watt?  I can use the additional power in the mornings and late afternoon.  I can switch the panels manually but I must have protection against a power spike.  I have a 2nd 5kva Axpert inverter but would prefer not to install it for only 3 panels.

I assume that the built-in MPPT is a 3kva unit and you are concerned about installing more than 3kwp of PV panels on this system. The good news is that the MPPT will automatically cap the power at its max rating, so even if you oversize the array a little the MPPT will simply cap it at 3kwp whenever it does make more.

It is advisable not to oversize by too much (it's not cost- effective anyway). Try to stick to around 120%. 3 additional panels should not be a problem.

Edit: Just watch out for the maximum open circuit voltage! I assume that this system is probably configured as 5 strings of 3 panels, so you'll be adding an extra string and won't be messing with any voltages... but it has to be said for completeness.