Help on new Axpert 5kva installation.

Sunny

Hi Guys, I am very new to the world of Solar power, to beat the eskom failures I decided to invest in a system as opposed to a generator. I have a 5 kva Axpert inverter , with 4x 200AH goldshine batteries and 6x300w panels. I am very happy with how this works but I have a few questions that perhaps you guys can help on.

1. Would this charge batteries fully? As they only seem to get to 52v my setting is set to 55v. Does this mean that I require more panels to maximize this?

2. My switch over setting is on 47v , but when this is reached and the inverter switches to utility on resting I still have above 48v. Should I change this setting to 46v?

3. Is there some setting that can help me charge this adequately?

I am using this setup on the SBU setting all my other settings are the defaults. Battery more is AGM.

Any help or thoughts on this would be highly appreciated.

Thanks

9 hours ago, Sunny said:

1. Would this charge batteries fully?

It depends. Factory firmware comes with the premature float bugs. If you use more energy in loads plus losses than you get with PV, then you'll not fully charge on average and need more panels.

As they only seem to get to 52v my setting is set to 55v.

That's a float voltage. It sounds like classic premature float voltage. I would think you'd need over 56 V to fully charge any lead-acid battery.

Does this mean that I require more panels to maximize this?

As above, it depends on your loads.

2. My switch over setting is on 47v , but when this is reached and the inverter switches to utility on resting I still have above 48v. Should I change this setting to 46v?

No! For battery longevity, you should only allow 50% DOD, and 48 V rested is well below that. I'd set it to 48 V, which it possibly as high as it goes.

3. Is there some setting that can help me charge this adequately?