New and clueless

Hi there

I am quite new at this. Solar energy is definitely not my forte and I am trying. My brother is an electrician and he has installed two solar panels, a Synerji inverter as well as two 12 volt batteries. 

The system is currently off grid and my load was not that much but after installation, it seemed like the panels are not charging the batteries. The inverter just switches off at 22.2v and I get an error04  message which indicates that the battery voltage is too low. However, the inverter attempts to turn on and off from time to time but does not seem to charge the batteries. It has been more that two days now and the batteries are not charging.

Please help :(

I feel like I have thrown money in the pit.

Hi Louisvdw

Thanks a lot for getting back to me. I am still trying to figure out what panels I have but, I have attached pictures of the battery as well as the inverter for serial and model numbers. 
When my brother, also an enthusiast first installed this, all worked fine because the battery was still full but my children drained the battery and since then I have been getting the 04 error which indicates that the voltage is too low.

The weird thing is every evening around 17H00 the inviter just switches on and attempts to charge but nothing happens then it switches itself off again.

batteries.png

serial.png

synerji.png

8 minutes ago, Thapelo said:

batteries.png

The batteries are connected in series. You can see that the red + terminal of the one battery is connected to the black - of the other battery. This will give you double the voltage to get you 24V and your inverter is a 24V. So that is fine. (Just check - it seems that you do not have a safety fuse between the inverter and the battery. You can buy a 125A 32V fuse and holder at Outdoor Warehouse for R100-R200)

12 minutes ago, Thapelo said:

serial.png