A learning-hungry electrician jumps onboard

Yes that electrician is me. I'm an industrial electrician who mainly do faultfinding on MCC panels and motors. I also on the odd occasion do faultfinding on VSD's, mostly LV ones ( oe oe I should really tell you about our 11kV softstarter, that thing is a beast lolol, filled to the brim with plc's and wizardry but anyways. It mostly idles though but even at idle will burn through my electricity bill in mere seconds minutes if not seconds lol). Why am I telling you this?L Speak your gibberish and techspeak, I can follow :)

Allow me to sketch my prentjie with you. At the evenings I go home and look at my daily usage and cry lol.

On the yard sits three dwellings (which functions as two separate families, main house is rented out to Tony, Tannie and three young men, flat 1 is your truly and his partner, flat 2 is her mother. The three of us (me, wife, mom) eat together and her unit literally uses 25 - 30 units a month, it has a gas geyser  ). So our family average 10 units a day whereby the other averages 30. I have not been able to run proper load tests as I don't have recording equipment but we average about 1.6kw/h over a months rolling average. I have confirmed this both weeksdays and weekends multiple times. 

I am yet to really spend the money to optimize my usage but I now I must really get down and dirty with it, change out Tony's old LP geyser to HP whatever (I really want the other family to be able to shower for both their pleasure and the total cost (top bracket really eats away at money but I can not just tell them, hey you put me in the top bracket, you pay the top bracket for everything, we split the bill percentage wise as I have installed separate kw/h meters in all three DB's subtracting our two from the main as we feed from it to make it truly "fair" since they are paying customers you know).