The corret way to split a BD

Chris Louw

1 hour ago, Chris Louw said:

There is a lot of extra wire and bad earth connects . I will shorten the wires , fit lugs on earths and use the open space to sort  wires . Will that be ok . Thanks .

Never remove an extra wire. Simply tape it up and cable tie it. Once removed you will need it again thanks to mamma Murphy.

OK, I am not an electrician. But I would certainly shorten some wires, though keep a little slack for future things. Put in a longer earth bar with more places to attach wires. Link this earth bar with the one in the other DB using a nice mid-sized green and yellow cable. Fix the crap trunking at the top, put in 60x40 or something. Also I noted that my own sparky likes to strip the Surfix up to the edge of the DB-board, running the individual red, black and earth to their respective locations. I think that just makes it easier to do it neatly, as they tend to go in three different directions the moment they enter the DB.

In fact, I wonder if you won't do better by putting a big old cover over that, fit a new surface-mount on top, then do a nice more modern DIN-mount DB. If you put the two tops on the same level, you then have one piece of trunking running at the top connecting the two. Should look much better.

Edit: Or better yet, put both the solar and "house" DB on top of the old one. It already seems that the supply wire is long enough to reach the bottom, so the house db goes at the bottom. The other wires are already long enough to reach the top, so they go directly to those breakers.

Hager makes a nice DIN-mount case with a top and bottom rail.

Edited by plonkster