Lower cost hybrid Inverters(Y&h) , how are they different from Off-Grid versions

luk88

Hi from a new member ūüôā

I've been using Solar for quite a while and I have some electronics repair experience. I initially wanted to build a pure off-grid system in addition to my small existing on-grid setup. 

However, one of the off-grid inverters I bought (Y&h 4.8kW 24v) just to power lights, security system and other small loads has grid tie capability. I tested it and it works pretty well for me. 

So now I wonder, what is the electrical (or design) difference between off-grid all-in-one inverters that cannot do grid export and those that can. Is it just a software feature? 

Both types have the one AC inverter for the output (during grid tie it's in bypass-line mode). Both can sync to the grid (as both have the 10ms switchover UPS option). 

So what functional blocks a typical off-grid inverter lacks to do grid export? By a typical off-grid I mean something like EASUN smh-ii 7k (Axpert MKS ii?). 

Also, Y&h claim to do their own manufacturing. But main boards look very similar to Voltronic products. Does anyone know if they add the grid export by using custom firmware only? 

As far as I can tell theirs (Y&h) are the only cheap battery inverters that can do grid export and limit the exported current at the same time. They have new options 37 (enable hybrid mode) and 38 (limit grid tie current) so with some clever programming it is possible to achieve zero export without a CT. 

I looked at EASUN igrid range and although they can do grid export there is no way to limit. 

Another notable thing is none of the Y&h inverters can be parallel 'Ed. I'm also interested if this can be changed, but perhaps it's for another thread. 

7 hours ago, luk88 said:

Hi from a new member ūüôā

I've been using Solar for quite a while and I have some electronics repair experience. I initially wanted to build a pure off-grid system in addition to my small existing on-grid setup.