Another noob: adding panels to my inverter/battery

I bought an Axpert-like 3kVA solar inverter from GeeWiz some time back, to use as a load shedding backup controller. It has saved us many times! The original 2x 12V 100Ah Royal 1150K batteries have been doubled up (one each old and new battery in each bank). This runs a fridge, two freezers, the garage door opener and the internet. Occasionally the TV and stereo.
But a recent 20-hour maintenance power outage has got me thinking that it is time to add some solar panels.
I'm a solar noob, but my understanding is that the PV-1800's MPPT is rated at 30-130V 80A. What is the best configuration of panels to make best use of the existing controller? Can I run two or more strings of three panels on one MPPT? Or will three panels in series exceed the voltage rating under no-load conditions?

I realise that at some point I'm going to want to upsize - better batteries, more capacity, more power out, and at least two MPPTs (house faces east-west). But for now I just want a starter-for-one investment that will help to keep us sane through the next round of load shedding.

3 hours ago, moron51 said:

but my understanding is that the PV-1800's MPPT is rated at 30-130V 80A. What is the best configuration of panels to make best use of the existing controller? Can I run two or more strings of three panels on one MPPT?

Can you please post a picture of the sticker on the side of the inverter for us to see the specs. If I am not mistaken, these PV-1800 models were clones of the Axperts. If this is correct, I would suggest you go 2 series in all your strings. 

On 72 cell panels you will be over 130 volts with 3 in series. 

Welcome to the forums!

I believe I had a similar setup to your from Geewiz, it was a Must inverter and definitely a clone. I wasn't too concerned about solar for mine but when I sold it I'm not sure it actually had an option for MPPT.

May be well off, but maybe post some pics of the bottom of the inverter too?