Pylontech US3000 shuts down when connected to Victron Multiplus

PJJ

Hello guys

I don't know if I am doing something wrong that should be obvious or what? Maybe @plonkster can instantly point me to solution who knows :P

Ok, so yesterday we finished a install at my bosses home consisting of the following:

-Victron Multiplus 5000VA

-Victron 250/70 MPPT

-Venus GX

-Pylontech US3000

And upon startup:

I flipped on the power switch on the Pylon and then pressed the start button, then suddenly the battery went "klonk" and the alarm status red just stayed red, I then started some basic troubleshooting and I couldn't find anything obvious, but I then disconnected only the Multi, and tried again, and boom, the battery starts up, and the Venus and the SSC where still functioning.

But the moment I reconnect the Multi again, "klonk" goes the battery and back into alarm state we go?

Thanks guys I would appreciate any help!

2 minutes ago, cpbotha said:

Total newb here, but did you remember to plug a VE.Can terminator into the second VE.Can port of the Venus GX?

(I remember reading the docs https://www.victronenergy.com/live/battery_compatibility:pylontech_phantom yesterday, and specifically that the battery would turn itself off without the VE.Can terminator.)

Yup, I did plug in the terminator.

I am starting to wonder, if its not perhaps a firmware issue, I will start on Monday by updating the Venus, and see if that makes a difference, i should also just confirm the firmware version  the multi is on, but I remember it being 4xx, but here is the catch, if the battery shuts down because of old firmware on the multi, how on earth am I supposed to power up the multi to complete the software updates? Well I guess I could just get 4 small 12V gate/alarm 7Ah batteries and I will have enough power to startup the multi and update it if needed.

3 hours ago, PJJ said: