Advice Needed on Axpert Hybrid Solar Inverter setup.

VIM

Hi all. 

I needed some assistance and was wondering if anyone will be able to assist. 

Please excuse my ignorance as I have no background electrical knowledge whatsoever. 

I recently had a solar inverter system setup at my business 3 weeks ago. I was informed that I could only use the system as a back up power supply during power outages as the power generated by the solar panels was not sufficient to power my business during the day and charge the lithium ion batteries... which were draining over the evening. To my knowledge it was set up for off grid use (SBU setting 1). Later it was switched to bypass mode as the batteries were almost dead every morning when coming in, so grid power is supplying all power. 

My current setup includes

1 x 5kva Axpert Hybrid inverter 

2 x leoch 4.8kw lithium ion batteries (9.6kw )

9 x 270w Solar panels - 3’s connected in parallel to prevent voltage drop. 

After reading on the forum, I see that you can setup this inverter using the SOL setting for option 1. I see others also recommend changing setting 16 so that source of charging isn’t solar only.

I just wanted to find out what settings I should select for all the various settings. My requirements are as follows : I have about 12 LED lights, 3 A++ rated fridges, alarm system, camera system and 2 desktops connected to the inverter. The rest is powered directly from the grid (plug points, geysers, Aircon etc). Current usage is around 1.8kw/h with maximum usage not exceeding 2.0kw/h. I would like the system setup so that I am using solar power during the day with the battery providing any additional load that the panels cannot meet. In the evening when there is no solar power I would want the grid to power the business and also top up/ charge the batteries so that the batteries are full should there be a power failure at night.

I hope I have explained the above clearly. Will appreciate any feedback on this matter.