Solar Water Heating - Reverse Flow & Heat Traps

RyanF

Really enjoy reading all the feedback on this forum, very educational and nice that it is specific to SA conditions.

I have many years of construction experience on larger commercial projects. Doing some smaller jobs at the moment and installed a few solar water heating systems, all purchased from TheSunPays.co.za. Their standard kit has no controller, only a 'dumb' 12v solar powered circulation pump. Of course it makes sense to at least install a timer relay on the geyser element to ensure you get a reasonable amount of solar energy harvested during the day. A timer is uncomplicated, much cheaper than a differential temperature controller and can be serviced by your average electrician. So overall this seems like a good approach for your average customer who has no interest or time to maintain a controller.

On the most recent installation (for a family member), I built an arduino controller to record temp data, and it also has two relays for geyser element and solar pump control. Got the first few weeks of data now and seen a couple of things where I need to make adjustments for a more efficient system.

So after all that blah, blah history, my questions:

1. The guys at TheSunPays provide both a typical SANS installation diagram, plus their own recommendation which is reverse flow i.e. water from hot side of the geyser goes to the evacuated tubes, and the return water goes in the cold side of the geyser. I spoke to the one guy and they swear from experience that the reverse flow is better.  See their diagram attached below. Anybody that has this 'reverse' installation and some longer term experience with it? Good, bad, ugly?
  2. Their diagram also wisely shows the use of heat traps to prevent reverse thermosyphon. Seems a heat trap is a better long-term maintenance option as opposed to non-return valves. Does anyone have experience on how deep the heat traps on both sides need to be to be effective?