Kodak MKSIII and DC input protection help needed.

Hi, awesome forum this .

Disclaimer : absolute beginner.

I am busy test benching 5kw inverter and 2 x  5 x 465w panels. Panels are on ground but I have cloned my roof tilt angle and direction.

I have single requirement, that is to augment solar energy with mains in order to reduce Eskom consumption. No batteries. Loads are limited to geyser and swimming pool pump for now.

When mains is not available, and little sun like today here in Germiston, the inverter will limp with the small amount of energy that comes from solar, it actually adjust AC output voltage to xfer as much input power to output. My load is old oven plates for testing, but I don't like this lower AC voltage for say swimming pool pump. Can this be disabled? Or should I detect this and cut it out with  external device. Inverter is in SUB mode.

Also, my absolute max open circuited DC voltage is 250 volt DC . At the moment I have worked a MOV arrangement on the fuse to start clamping at 428v . That would allow me not to invite the inverter to clamp.

But commercial offerings is in the order of 600v and 1000v DC, is this fine? Also they pretty expensive, so I want buy right.

Thanking you.

On 2021/08/13 at 12:54 PM, 87 Dream said:

Hi Dropkick

Disclaimer: The most knowledgeable of people on this forum all started off as absolute beginners at some point🤣 Kudos for starting!!

I am more familiar with other Axpert models namely the MKSll & the larger Axpert MAX. Can you please post us the sticker on the side of the inverter to assist you with the Solar Voltage questions you have. This sticker has all the technical specs for setting up the inverter.