Efergy Monitor

bobmabena

Does anyone know how accurate the Efergy energy monitoring product is?

I've been using one for a few months, but, after getting a bit of a shock elec bill from the municipality, I did some maths...

COCT says I used 925kWh vs the Efergy Engage platform's 761kWh

That's quite a difference... 

3 minutes ago, Vassen said:

The other issue with the efergy is that it does not measure power factor so also adds to inaccuracies

I agree, but not taking power factor into account should mean that the Efergy meter reads more than your actual consumption, not less. Which makes the discrepancy between the CoCT reading and the Efergy meter even worse.

As far as I remember, the Efergy monitor has a setting where you enter the Mains voltage. If this is set above/below the actual mains voltage, the calculated energy will be correspondingly above/below the metered value.

Also check whether the clip-on current sensor is properly attached. The two sensor surfaces must be lightly pressed together (i.e. no gap) and have no cracks, chips or dirt between them.

A third possibility is that the Effergy monitor may not accurately record very low-current loads (standby current of TVs, PSUs etc). This can easily add up over a couple of months.   

• 3 months later...

Hi guys

Where did you attach the efergy transmitter? To the main meter (which for me is outside my property and far away so not sure signal will reach) or can it be connected to the DB in the house?

If it can be connected to the DB where in this mess do I connect it?

Thanks!

IMG_20210316_215259a.jpg

20 minutes ago, Robbo said:

Hi guys

Where did you attach the efergy transmitter? To the main meter (which for me is outside my property and far away so not sure signal will reach) or can it be connected to the DB in the house?

If it can be connected to the DB where in this mess do I connect it?

Thanks!

IMG_20210316_215259a.jpg