Monitoring power generated, power used from batteries, power used from grid.

William2805

Question

Good day everyone. Hope all is well.

I'm fairly new to solar and also new to the forum.

I just wanted to hear if there is anyone that has experience in using monitoring software on ther inverters. 

I currently have 2x Axpert inverter units (none WiFi) running between solar, batteries, and the grid. I would really like to start trending the power used from the solar side, vs the power that is still used from the grid to try and optimize my system and to see where I can improve, and if needs be to add additional lithium batteries. 

What software would you suggest? How wil thhe setup work with having 2 units? Will you require 2x LAN connections to a PC? Will only one comnection be needed as the units are connected as a master and a slave? Will I be able to use something like a energy meter that has it's own software? Is a PC with monitoring software the only solution or will I able to use a smart device like a Raspberry Pi or a cellphone?

Your feedback, guidance and assistance will be highly appreciated. 

🙂

7 answers to this question

So I am running both at the moment ICC and Solar Assistant. Here is my (this is my personal view) findings to date:

1. ICC Solar - Price I can't remember the exact amount but I think I paid $49 via pay pal - No Pi included there are options to include a Pi
    1. Pro's
      1. Incredible software from a perspective of the developer knowing the inverters correct calculations and displaying the information