Infini 3kw + off-grid myth?

Green Bum

I opted to buy the infini due to its off-grid capabilities (providing AC power from PV panels without any utility availability) After installing 12X260W panels my understanding is that I have to connect with the utility with the small complication of automatically becoming a SSEG!! L

Can I run the Infini off-grid? Without any municipal power connected to the inverter?

Thanks

Yes but then you need batteries. You should be able to install an Infini with zero feedback and therefore not become a SSEG. I have no real world experience in this regard but many folk do not feedback. You need either grid or batteries as one's output from panels is just too variable to be of any practical application.

Thank you Chris,

1. according to my municipality my system becomes an "embedded" system the moment I connect it to my municipal AC irrespective of exporting or not:(
  2. I have a 48V battery bank but my reading of my manual points to 3 off-grid options, all connected to the municipality??

I decided on the Infini due to its versatility, being in a regulated municipality I wanted the "legal" option of real off-grid

You could plug your inverter into a 3 point plug and then it is a solar assisted UPS. I think your municipality is being very broad in its definition of an embedded system. I am totally off-grid so have no experience dealing with the authorities.

1 hour ago, Green Bum said:

according to my municipality my system becomes an "embedded" system the moment I connect it to my municipal AC irrespective of exporting or not:(