RCT Axpert MKSII 5KVA/5KW Inverter - minimum PV array?

MKRandburg

Hi,

I'm pretty new to this solar thing.

I'm thinking of getting this inverter: RCT Axpert MKSII 5KVA/5KW Inverter 48VDC 4500W 450VDC MPPT

But I'm on a budget, so what is the minimum solar array I can hook up to it? And how do I figure that out.

I'm under the impression that these types of inverters have a minimum that they need to operate.

I won't be using batteries but will by grid tied. 

Rated Power 5000VA / 5000W 
Maximum PV Array Power 4500W
MPPT Range @ Operating Voltage 120VDC~430VDC
Maximum PV Array Open Circuit Voltage 450VDC
Maximum Solar Charge Current 80A
Maximum AC Charge Current 80A

You could do 6-8 300-400 watt panels.

I started with 6 and the inverter would just go into bypass mode with loads higher that what the panels could supply and on cloudy days that's around 300-400 watts with 6 panels. It really depends on what you are trying to do. If you are not buying batteries then I would buy as many panels as is reasonable to avoid paying for installation on panels again. If you are doing the installation yourself than it doesn't matter, you buy and install as funds allow.

80A

1 hour ago, Tariq said:

what about the VMIII models, they do a sort of blending of pv and grid AND don't need batteries

I was thinking about a second hand one, so wanted to check that I can do what I want to do on that one. 

1 hour ago, Buyeye said:

to avoid paying for installation on panels again

But @Buyeye has a good point. My plan was to slowly buy more panels as my budget allowed (but I didn't consider installation costs - although I'm pretty handy, I might be able to do subsequent ones myself). Which is why I want to go without batteries. I have a generator for load shedding but would prefer to use solar for day time load shedding (and save some Eskom pennies on non-loadshedding days). It's a 2.2kw genny, so I know what I can manage on that. 

Edited by MKRandburg