New member - i little knowledge :)

Hi All,

how I wish I knew about this forum before last night :D

I am fairly new to solar. Have some knowledge but not as much as the pool on here. I have an existing setup but wan tto change the batteries.

12x330w Canadian solar

Growatt SPF5000 (off grid)

Batteries - lets not go there...

So I proceeded to want to put a  few lithium batteries on the system. However everyone I speak to says to me that pylontech batteries ( I was looking at 3x 3.4KW) are not compatible with the inverter and cannot be used.. I dont agree but dont want to buy a battery that wont be waranteed. I assume the issue is actually that I cannot current limit the Growatt and that this may cause premature failure t the battery it continues current is higher than what they want you to draw to keep the proposed battery life. They all say it is because of the communications protocol. Which should not be an issue as the battery charges itself right? The Pylontech have a BMS built in which handles the charging as long as it has voltage and current? Or am I missing something?

Anyways. Long story short. I am deciding to rather then get an Axpert Infini  48v4k. I know from reading that Axperts are not the rolls of inverters but I dont have the rolls money at this point after I what I will be paying for batteries... btw I still have an old disk based power meter. My thought thus is to place some of my load between my inverter and eskom(geyser) and some behind the inverter (everything else - kettle on the stove which is gas). Grid tie it  the inverter like that? That way the inverter can feed the geyser and Eskom can feed what the inverter lacks? Is this a good idea? Reason for this is that I dont want to hang the geyser off the battery bank/inverter but still want to get benefit of the panels for the geyser. Will this work? And if I am lucky perhaps the meter will play along as well for the reverse feed excess netting off in the end? 

Proposed setup then..