Big difference between municipal meter and inverter/logger

Hi, I am new to world of renewables. I have an 8kW Deye inverter (installed 6 January), with 18 x 330W panels (being installed today) and a US3000 battery. With the panels being installed a week after the inverter, it has given me a chance to monitor our power consumption from the grid for a week. The problem is that the inverter states that we've used 318kWh in the past 6 days, while the municipal meter has only read 181kWh. I would understand a small difference, but surely something is wrong with the inverter's readings?

1 hour ago, PaulinNorthcliff said:

I would imagine that your inverter is measuring the power going into it, AND the power going out of it. Do you have the clamp meter attached correctly?

I don't think that's the problem. See pic below, the clamp is only around the live wire coming in from the grid. I asked the installer, but I don't agree with his view that the inverter needs to "build a memory" before the readings will be accurate. With the panels now online, I will post the readings again on Sunday (municipal + generation should be close to consumption + losses)...

20210113_082734.jpg

2 minutes ago, FixAMess said:

Its not only about the correct wire placement but is the clamp facing the correct direction, or is that not an issue with Sunsync?

The clamp must be in the right direction for the sunsynk as well. 

I don't have this issue with my 8kw sunsynk inverter. 

Thanks all. It was actually plain to see (once I removed the clamp. The clamp has an arrow indicating the direction in which energy should flow. However, the installer probably found that the clamp was difficult to install the correct way around, so he just took the easy way out. I've managed to get the clamp out, but I'm struggling to install it again. I am sure that was the problem, but will give feedback later. Thanks a lot!

1 hour ago, Degert said: