MPPT Charge controller.

vulgrim

The best in my opinion is the Victron 150/85, and I say this not only because I'm a Victron fan boy. I've seen what they look like inside, seriously upmarket construction and quality. Only problem is, 85 amps is the largest one they make, so you'll have to go with two 150/70 units, but you're talking around 30k at the present exchange rate for two of those. The 150/70 is arguably even better. No fans... completely natural convection.

The only other units I have experience with, are the Microcare units. I believe they do make a 100A unit. I also heard their quality have improved lately. Will set you back around 10k. I won't say this is the best though.

I have no experience with some of the other upmarket units, such as the Morningstar or the Outback. From what I've heard, very good, and very expensive.

Edit: You can get two 100/50 or three 100/30 units for much less. And as someone who has lost an MPPT controller, having more than one makes a lot of sense... :-)

Value for money is certainly the combination of a pure sine wave inverter with built-in MPPT controllers like the hybrid Axpert/PIP 4,000w 5,000 Va. It has a 60A MPPT

charging controller and an intelligent 60A mains charger, totalling 120A charging. You can also go the grid tied way with a KACO 6002. This unit is far superior but only works grid tied without batteries. It will deliver 6,000w with MPPT range starting from 200v - 510v. Brilliant unit if the purpose is to use and save shore power whilst the sun is shining.

Reason I ask is that, looking quickly, neither Victron (as per Plonkster), Outback nor Morningstar go that high.

Reasoning is simple I suppose: It gets really difficult to make it work safely.But, you could use more than one controller, depending on what you want to do.

Reason I ask is that, looking quickly, neither Victron (as per Plonkster), Outback nor Morningstar go that high.