Connecting Axpert to Rasberry PI 4

Mark1981

Hi,

I wanted to use  a Rasberry PI 4 and connect to my Axpert VP 1K/1000W inverter for basic monitoring

My invert has the following communication ports on the side (attached pic)

Which do I need to use for monitoring? Or can I use either one?

I received a serial to ethernet cable (attached pic) with the inverter which I assume I could connect to the ethernet port and then use a serial to USB converter to connect to my Rasberry PI?

Otherwise can I use a standard printer USB cable (attached pic) to plug into the USB port and directly into the PI?

Thanks very much for all your help. I am very new to inverters

Regards,

Mark

serial_to_ethernet.jpg

usb_printer_cable.jpg

communication_ports.jpg

Thanks very much for the reply

I hadn't decided yet. It's just to tinker around and do some basic monitoring so I didn't want to buy something like ICC

I read a bit about watch power but doesn't sound like I can run it on raspberry Pi

So I was looking at this

https://www.playbackdesign.com/pd-axpert/

I am definitely open to suggestions though. 

Don't have any experience with pd-axpert, I've linked two projects that I've played around with before that have worked for me.

These require a little more work, I was piping the JSON data into InfluxDB and visualising it in Grafana. How are you installing pd-axpert? Maybe I can help.

https://github.com/manio/skymax-demo

https://github.com/lluisball/godenerg

I am also looking at developing something myself as I am just looking for basic monitoring and not filling with any inverter settings remotely or anything like that. Then I could also send myself notifications around various states such as battery voltage.