Bought a BMW i3

Travis

Morning,

So after a few years of using my Land Cruiser as a daily driver I decided to bite the bullet on a electric car.

I have chosen the BMW i3 REX

It has a 22KW (18.8KW usable) 60Ah Lithium battery giving you a range of 130-160km (200km in ECO PRO + mode) and with the REX (Petrol range extender) you get 260-290km

I got the model with all the drive assist options, so it has active cruiser control and can drive itself in traffic upto 60KM/h

I ran the battery to 6% yesterday as a test. Drove 157km. Used 18kw to charge. At the peak price of 0.81c per KW, it cost R15. That is 1.1L of petrol equivalent or 0.7L per 100km

I am chuffed. As a bonus it is comfortable to drive and quicker off the line than most car at the robots!

Shout if you guys have any questions of want a test drive :)

IMG_7144.jpg

Would love to have one... but it's a half-a-mill car (either of them, the i3 is closer to 600k) and I just don't buy cars that costs as much as a small house. Maybe when my ship comes in, maybe if they age well and reach the second hand market, maybe if the investment property that cost about that much back in 2008 starts showing a profit... maybe  :-)

Morning,

So after a few years of using my Land Cruiser as a daily driver I decided to bite the bullet on a electric car.

I have chosen the BMW i3 REX

It has a 22KW (18.8KW usable) 60Ah Lithium battery giving you a range of 130-160km (200km in ECO PRO + mode) and with the REX (Petrol range extender) you get 260-290km

I got the model with all the drive assist options, so it has active cruiser control and can drive itself in traffic upto 60KM/h

I ran the battery to 6% yesterday as a test. Drove 157km. Used 18kw to charge. At the peak price of 0.81c per KW, it cost R15. That is 1.1L of petrol equivalent or 0.7L per 100km

I am chuffed. As a bonus it is comfortable to drive and quicker off the line than most car at the robots!

Shout if you guys have any questions of want a test drive [emoji4]