Hello

New guy here. I have 2 (almost ) full days of research under the belt and tired to absorb as much knowledge as I could muster. I'm a complete noob with no electrical background, but have been toying with the idea of becoming self sufficient when it comes to electricity supply, or at least make a start towards that goal.

From all my researching, and recommendations, I have my heart set on a SunSynk 8K and either a Hubble AM2 or Pylon 5K battery to start off with to at least initially help with load shedding, but ultimately, in addition be 90+ % self sufficient if not 100%. I know I have a long journey ahead of me, and I have SO much to learn, especially not being as clued up as many of you are, but I need to start somewhere.

My daily draw is about 25-30KWh. It's a new house with all LED lights, A Heatpump ( 5Kw ) with 2x 200L Geysers and a 100L geyser for the kitchen on Solar already. I have two aircons installed, but have hardly used them so far. I have a water pump for my two water tanks ( 1KW ) , a Kettle 2.4KW and the usual Washing machine, dishwasher etc. Also have Gas hob and Electric stove combo.

So I guess the typical household of 4/5

Now I know may will sya- just geta small inverter and battery to cover loadshedding, but I have more in mind - looking to the future, because it doesnt look like things are going to get any better, in fact , i think it will just get worse, so I want to go BIG ( or at least as BIG as I can from the outset ) and grow from there.

I'm in two minds if I should go for a 8K or 5K SunSync, but I guess the 8K will be more future proof ? The Solar Panels can come later, so I may just get a couple initially. or hold off till funds permit. Same with batteries.

Anyway - glad to be here. Hope to learn a lot from you all.

Cheers

Hi,

Welcome to a wealth of knowledge.

Sounds like you want to be where I am😉