Adding new batteries to existing bank of batteries

David1SA

Hi All,

Apologies for the basic question. I have a simple 8kw Inverter/UPS with 4x 200ah batteries at my house. This has been working well as backup power for the past 5 years.

The long term goal is to replace this system with an 8kw hybrid Sunsynk, 16 panels and 20kwh of batteries. (i have been running an efergy monitor for 2 months to see exactly what i need).

While my current system has served its purpose, the batteries are lasting now less than the 2 hours of loadshedding. I unfortunately do not have the means to outlay the 200k+ required for the sunsynk system. I am looking to get additional batteries or replace my current ones.

The questions:

1) My current 4x 200ah lead acid batteries are not dead but they dont last as long as they used to. Can i simply add 4 x additional 200ah batteries onto this system (ie running 4x 5 year old batteries + 4xnew 200ah lead acids (a total of 8). OR is this not recommended and i should simply replace the current bank of batteries with 4x new Gel/lead acid 200ah.

2) Is there an option to buy 1 or 2 (5kw) lithium batteries instead of buying lead acids. I dont mind paying a bit extra as i know the lithiums will form part of my longer term goals. My worry is that my inverter/UPS will not be able to manage/communicate with the batteries correctly (and thus cause damage to them).

Looking forward to your responses.

Thanks 

David

Hi David

I changed my 4 gel batteries with 1 x lituim battery ,

I have an old inverter but could use the manual charging parameters with lituim because the built-in BMS in the battery handles the rest

For me it was :

- the space saving (bulky gel batteries to wall mounted lituim),

- maintenance (I do not have battery balancers) , I annually manually balanced them

- I am hoping for an extended lifetime lituim is offering (more than ave 5 year life of gel batteries)

In hindsight: