Automatic / Relay: Neutral Bonding?

RabidBunny

Please bear with me, as I am no artist, but at-least I am trying (for easier understanding I have separated the E/L/N diagrams - and they may not be 100% correct against termanology, but this is just to show the connecting dots) ... 😀

Setup:

2x 8kW Deye Hybrid Inverters (linked in parallel), with battery bank and PV arrays.

I am sitting with a floating neutral problem, only when my system is in "off-grid" (ISLAND mode), when Eskom decides to pull the plug. When normal AC is returned, the floating neutral is resolved, due to proper connection between N and E.

Below is a sketch of my setup/wiring that may give some idea of how things are configured. I will most likely need to install a N/E bond relay that will trigger the bond to be established between N and E, when in "off-grid" (ISLAND mode) ~ for most parts I am running "off-grid", however when weather is terrible and I barely cope with PV, then I lend a little from Eskom.

1.      L/N + E is fed in

2.      L/N (input) runs through the “Surge Protector”, to protect everything down-stream

3.      L (input) is bridged to the “MAINS” circuit breaker, which in turn sends L (output) to both the inverters

4.      N (output) is linked to a common neutral (bar), which in turn sends N to both inverters

5.      E (output) from the “Surge Protector” is linked to fed-in E

6.      Since both inverters are “grounded” with the fed-in ground via the load, the circuit is complete – however when Eskom falls away, this is where my floating neutral occurs, this I assume is because the circuit cannot be completed to the main N being fed-in

My questions are:

1.      Where in this diagram would be the best placement for the “ground” and “neutral” bond / relay to be installed?

2.      Which relay would you advise I use for such a configuration?

3.      Since the setup is run in parallel, how will I configured the "bonding" for the second inverter? (both run on the same N + E)